Pubs & Blogs

open
Elsewhere Online twitter Facebook SLS Blogs YouTube SLS Channel Linked In SLSNavigator SLS on Flickr

Stanford Law Review (SLR)

Overview

The Stanford Law Review was organized in 1948. Each year the Law Review publishes one volume, which appears in six separate issues between November and July. Each issue contains material written by student members of the Law Review, other Stanford law students, and outside contributors, such as law professors, judges, and practicing lawyers.

The Law Review has two principal functions: to educate and foster intellectual discourse among the student membership, and to contribute to legal scholarship by addressing important legal and social issues. Law Review participants select, edit, and publish articles and notes on the cutting edge of legal scholarship. Through these activities, they develop important research, editorial, administrative, and teaching skills. Editors are trained to critically and comprehensively evaluate submissions. Through a team-editing process, they address the work's analysis, writing style, research, organization, and accuracy. In addition, student authors who submit notes for publication receive extensive editorial assistance that helps them write more clearly and persuasively.

The Law Review is operated entirely by Stanford Law School students and is fully independent of faculty and administration review or supervision. The organization is self-supporting and derives its income principally from subscriptions and copyright royalties (for example, the Law Review receives income each time a Law Review article is retrieved from an electronic legal database). Approximately 2,600 libraries, attorneys, judges, law firms, government agencies, and others subscribe to the Law Review.

For more information contact:

Andrew Siegel andrew.siegel@stanford.edu - President
Julia Forgie jforgie@gmail.com - Executive Editor
Kate Wies kwies@stanford.edu - Executive Editor
David Friedman dfriedman@stanford.edu - Managing Editor
Thomas Fu thomasfu@stanford.edu - Managing Editor
John Haddock jhaddock@stanford.edu - Senior Articles Editor
Neil Sawhney neilksawhney@gmail.com - Senior Notes Editor
Alex Tucker alextucker11@gmail.com - Senior Development Editor
Kyle Rifkind kyle.rifkind@gmail.com - Senior Online Editor
Lily Hines lkhines@stanford.edu - Senior Online Editor
Jackie Robinson jackierobinson@stanford.edu - Senior Finance Editor