News Center

Elsewhere Online twitter Facebook SLS Blogs YouTube SLS Channel Linked In SLSNavigator SLS on Flickr

American Academy Announces 2009 Class of Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members: New Members include Stanford Law Faculty

Publication Date: 
April 20, 2009
The American Academy of Arts & Sciences

CAMBRIDGE, MA, April 20, 2009—The American Academy of Arts & Sciences today announced Deborah Hensler, Judge John W. Ford Professor of Dispute Resolution and associate dean for graduate studies and Deborah Rhode, Ernest W. McFarland Professor of Law and director of the Center on the Legal Profession at Stanford Law School are among the 210 new Fellows and 19 Foreign Honorary Members elected this year to the Academy—one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies and a center for independent policy research.

U.S. Court of Appeals Judge J. Harvie Wilkinson III; California Supreme Court Chief Justice Ronald George (Stanford Law School alumnus); and legal scholar and Bancroft Prize-winning author Michael Klarman (Stanford Law School alumnus) are also among those elected in law. They join members of the Academy who serve as justices of the U. S. Supreme Court and several state supreme courts, along with other leading jurists and legal scholars.

The Academy, established in 1780 by founders of the nation, undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Current projects focus on science, technology and global security; social policy and American institutions; the humanities and culture; and education. The Academy’s membership of scholars and practitioners from many disciplines and professions gives it a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary, long-term policy research.

“Since 1780, the Academy has served the public good by convening leading thinkers and doers from diverse perspectives to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing issues of the day,” said Leslie Berlowitz, Chief Executive Officer and William T. Golden Chair. “I look forward to welcoming into the Academy these new members to help continue that tradition.”

“These remarkable men and women have made singular contributions to their fields, and to the world,” said Academy President Emilio Bizzi. “By electing them as members, the Academy honors them and their work, and they, in turn, honor us.”

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 10, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected as members the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

A complete list of newly elected Fellows and Honorary Foreign Members with their affiliations is located at: