Elsewhere Online twitter Facebook SLS Blogs YouTube SLS Channel Linked In SLSNavigator SLS on Flickr

The Bright Award

The Bright Award was created by a gift from Raymond E. Bright, Jr., JD '59 in 2007 on behalf of his late wife, Marcelle, and himself. Mr. Bright died in 2011. Under the terms of his gift, the Bright Award is given annually to an “individual who has made significant contributions in the environmental preservation and sustainability area” and is awarded to an individual from one of ten rotating regions. The list of regions from which winners will be chosen over the next five years is shown below.

  • 2013 – South America
  • 2014 – North America
  • 2015 – Europe
  • 2016 – Africa
  • 2017 – West Asia

A nomination committee comprised of Stanford Law School faculty members, law students and others on campus, with assistance from consultants focused on designated regions of the world, will recommend potential candidates each year. The Dean of Stanford Law School will select the final award recipient. An Advisory Committee, consisting of Michael Bright, George Bright, and Alan Markle, helps oversee the Bright Award and also provides guidance in the selection of the recipient.The award winner receives $100,000 and delivers a public lecture at Stanford University. 2013 was the inaugural year of the award. 

This year's winner is Art Sterritt, founding executive director of Coastal First Nations in British Columbia,who has played a critical role in establishing and protecting the Great Bear Rainforest. 

Read More