Elsewhere Online twitter Facebook SLS Blogs YouTube SLS Channel Linked In SLSNavigator SLS on Flickr

American Constitution Society (ACS)


The American Constitution Society for Law and Policy is a recently formed national organization of law students, law professors, judges, practicing lawyers and others. We want to counter the dominant vision of American law today, a narrow conservative vision that lacks appropriate regard for the ways in which the law affects people's lives. We seek to restore the fundamental principles of respect for human dignity, protection of individual rights and liberties, genuine equality, and access to justice to their rightful—and traditionally central—place in American law. We want to strengthen the intellectual underpinnings of—and the public case for—a vision of the law in which these values are paramount—on such issues as: privacy; freedom of speech; federalism; anti-discrimination and affirmative action; gay rights; a woman's right to choose; labor and consumer rights; protection of health, safety, and the environment; the death penalty; and the criminal justice system.

Speakers at Stanford's American Constitution Society's events include former Democratic presidential nominee Michael S. Dukakis, ACLU Executive Director Anthony D. Romero, former White House Counsel John Dean, Stanford Law School Dean Kathleen M. Sullivan, Clinton Chief of Staff John Podesta, Public Citizen's Litigation Department's Co-founder Alan Morrison, Judge Stephen Reinhardt, Judge Nathaniel R. Jones, Judge Michael Daly Hawkins, Judge Ann Aiken, Marc Rotenberg, Executive Director of the Electronic Privacy Information Center, Christopher Painter and John Elwood from the U.S. Department of Justice, Professor Pamela S. Karlan, Professor Gerald Eulman, and Lis Semel, former director of the ABA's Death Penalty Representation Project.

Contact Information for the 2015-2016 Board:

Lisa Bixby, Co-President 

Elizabeth Vissers, Co-President

Olga Musayev, Academic Committee Co-Chair

Matthew SellersAcademic Committee Co-Chair

Alison Gocke, Advocacy Committee Chair

Mary Rock, Advocacy Committee Co-Chair 

Bill Koch, Communications Chair

Adam Arguelles, External Relations Co-Chair

Abbee CoxExternal Relations Co-Chair

Willie Brenc, Judicial Committee Co-Chair

Kevin Eaton, Judicial Committee Co-Chair

Maria Buxton, Membership Committee Chair

An-li Herring, Policy Commitee Co-Chair

Hannah Kieschnick, Policy Committee Co-Chair

Jeff Parker, Subcommitte on Economic Inequality

Hugh Kirkpatrick, Subcommittee on Student Debate

Deepa Kannappan, 3L Chapter Advisor

Rylee Sommers-Flanagan, 3L Chapter Advisor