Elsewhere Online twitter Facebook SLS Blogs YouTube SLS Channel Linked In SLSNavigator SLS on Flickr

Mark A. Lemley
William H. Neukom Professor of Law

Affiliations & Honors

Professional Affiliations

  • Advisor (2004-Present), Principles of the Law of Software Contracts Project, American Law Institute
  • Arbitrator (1999-2001), Domain Name Disputes, Internet Corporation For Assigned Names and Numbers
  • Chair, Association of American Law Schools Section on Law and Computers, 1997
  • Master, San Francisco Bay Area Intellectual Property Inns of Court
  • Member (2004-Present), Advisory Board, Electronic Frontier Foundation
  • Member (2000-Present), Northern District of California Working Committee on Model Patent Jury Instructions
  • Member (1995-Present), Panel of Academic Advisors, American Committee for Interoperable Systems
  • Member (1995-1999), Board of Directors, University Cooperative Society
  • Member (1994-2000), Board of Editors, American Intellectual Property Law Association Quarterly Journal
  • Member, American Intellectual Property Law Association and American Law and Economics Association
  • Moderator, "CyberProf" Internet listserv

Honors and Awards

  • Honoree, World Economic Forum Young Global Leader, 2007
  • Honoree, American Lawyer’s Young Litigators Fab Fifty, 2007
  • Recipient, Best Lawyers in America, 2007 (IP, antitrust)
  • Honoree, National Law Journal's "100 Most Influential Lawyers," 2006
  • Recipient, California Lawyer’s Attorney of the Year (CLAY) Award, 2005
  • Honoree, Lawdragon 500: New Stars, New Worlds, 2006
  • Honoree, Lawdragon Leading Lawyers in America, 2005, 2006
  • Honoree, Daily Journal 100 Most Influential Attorneys in California, 2004, 2005, 2006
  • Honoree, San Francisco Magazine, Northern California Super Lawyers (IP litigation), 2004, 2005, 2006
  • Honoree, Marquis Who’s Who in America, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007
  • Finalist, World Technology Network’s World Technology Award for Law, 2004
  • Honoree, Daily Journal Top 25 Intellectual Property Attorneys in California, 2003
  • Recipient, Young Alumnus of the Year, UC Berkeley School of Law (Boalt Hall), 2002
  • Recipient, Order of the Coif, UC Berkeley School of Law (Boalt Hall)
  • Recipient, Thelen Marrin Prize, UC Berkeley School of Law (Boalt Hall)
  • Recipient, John G. Sobieski Prize in Economics, Stanford University, 1988