Elsewhere Online twitter Facebook SLS Blogs YouTube SLS Channel Linked In SLSNavigator SLS on Flickr



The law school held its graduation ceremony on Sunday, May 21, 2006, at the university's Memorial Auditorium. Among those who participated in the ceremony were 176 candidates for Doctor of Jurisprudence (JD), with 10 concentrating in the area of corporate governance and practice and 10 in law, science and technology; 13 for the degree of Master of the Science of Law (JSM); and 11 for the degree of Doctor of the Science of Law (JSD).

This year's John Bingham Hurlbut Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Barbara H. Fried, William W. and Gertrude H. Saunders Professor of Law. Paul Lomio, director of the Robert Crown Law Library, was awarded the 2006 Staff Appreciation Award and accepted on behalf of himself and Erika Wayne, assistant director for information services at the library. Class co-treasurers Thomas M. Noone and Sonya U. Sanchez presented the Class of 2006's gift, a pledge of $52,000 in five-years to renovate the second-floor reading room in the library.


Closing out the ceremony, Dean Larry Kramer said in his speech, "In becoming a lawyer, you join one of the oldest, most important and, yes, most respected professions in the world...The world needs change, and it will be people like you who do it."